A Brew of Memories

Today my scent is bloody-
saliva in my mouth
in every swallow
weak and shivering
each breath per moment beating
further from peace
further from calm
the frequency of my heart
too low, too sharp

there’s a bullet in my mind
from twenty years ago
just a moment before I was feeling for the wind
whispering innocence with my fingertip
living in another world, just before, deeply rooted
not anymore:
now the drying land, war for war;
shots fly for all our hopes.

my bullet stayed in place
my heart beats because of it
and every sip of every taste
is bitter, each seed is sour
my essence is bloody –
too bloody
to share.

Leave a Reply

